A petition demanding that a number of stations in north east Surrey be added to Zone 6 of London's transport infrastructure has been signed by over 15,000 people.

The Change.org petition was launched some four years ago but has steadily gained support with online users, many of whom live in the areas that would be affected.

It demands that stations in Ashford, Staines, Sunbury, Shepperton, all within the borough of Spelthorne, be added to Transport for London (TfL)'s transport network.

Specifically, the stations listed in the petition would join Zone 6 of London's expansive transport network.

An extract of the petition reads:

"Being so close to Britain's largest airport and many attractions such as Thorpe Park, classing these stations outside the Zones has made fares expensive and fines frequent.

"As the population of London grows, so must the Zone areas. Please include these stations, within the M25, in Zone 6. Policing and fining of unsuspected passengers/tourists would also decrease.

"There are many stations not in 'London' which are included in the Zones so there is no reason why our stations aren't included."

Many signatories posted comments below on signing, with a number expressing their view that all stations "inside the M25" be included in TfL's transport network and 'Zone' system.

As alluded in the petition itself, TfL's influence over areas not typically considered parts of London has grown with the population and size of the city in recent years.

For example, Epsom, plus Merstham, Redhill, Earlswood, Salfords, Horley and Gatwick Airport, were added to the Oyster card network in 2019 in a bid to streamline transport links between those places at the capital.