Chris Grayling from the Conservatives has held on to his Epsom and Ewell seat, winning with 53.5 per cent of the votes and a majority of 17,873.

It was declared early on Friday morning that Grayling will continue as Tory MP for the constituency after he received 31,819 votes.

The Lib Dem candidate, Steve Gee, came in at second place on election night, receiving 13,946 votes.

He was followed by Labour's Ed Mayne in third place with 10,226 votes, and Green Party candidate Janice Baker with 2,047 votes.

independent candidate Clive Woodbridge received 1,413 votes.

Turnout was 73.3 per cent.