Ed Davey from the Lib Dems has been re-elected as the next MP for Kingston and Surbiton after winning the seat with 51.1 per cent of the vote and a majority of 10,489.

It was declared early on Friday morning that Mr Davey will hold onto the constituency after he received 31,103 votes.

The Conservative candidate, Aphra Brandreth, came in at second place on election night, receiving 20,614 votes.

She was followed by Labour's Leanne Werner in third place with 6,528 votes, and Sharron Sumner of the Green Party in fourth with 1,038.

The Brexit Party candidate Scott Holman won 788 votes, while independent James Giles received 458.

'Chinners' Chinnery of the Monster Raving Loony Party won 193 votes, while UKIP party candidate Roger Glencross won 124.

Turnout was 74.2 per cent.