Head coach Stuart Lancaster insisted his England side has the balance and energy to meet the challenge of South Africa on Saturday.

Quins skipper Chris Robshaw will again lead his country, while clubmates Mike Brown and Danny Care have also neen named in the squad to face the Springboks at Twickenham.

Stoop favourites Joe Marler, Jordan Turner-Hall, George Robson and Ugo Monye have all been released back director of rugby Conor O'Shea's men, ahead of Friday's Premiership trip to Bath.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster: “We have made some changes this week to freshen up the squad before the challenge of South Africa.

"Unfortunately that means one or two players miss out who were in the match day squad against Australia.

"But they have all added value with their contributions in training and the games and I am sure they will be looking to play well for their clubs and force their way back in.

"The changes, however, give opportunities to those who have been pushing hard and we feel will add energy and balance to the team ahead of the significant South African challenge.”

The England squad to face South Africa: Mouritz Botha (Saracens), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), James Haskell (London Wasps), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby), David Paice (London Irish), Tom Palmer (London Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), David Wilson (Bath Rugby), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers), Chris Ashton (Saracens), Brad Barritt (Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (London Irish), Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).